My Writing Experience

Hello,

I’ve went back and forth over what I wanted to blog about for the open blog post prompt. After receiving an assignment in my ELE 302 course that required me to write an autobiography over my literacy past I made a decision. I want to share with you all some of my opinions, experiences, and complaints that I have about writing. First, I will say that I have never really enjoyed writing and exploring my thoughts on paper. As a child, I would try to start a dairy, and I would write one or two entries, and never return to it again. With that being said, I have always loved the actual motion of writing. I prefer to write things down, rather than typing. For example, I like to hand write my class notes and I keep a very detailed handwritten agenda. During my K-12 years my go to distraction was practicing my cursive skills. So, I enjoy handwriting, just not actually having to free write or write over a topic. My indecisiveness makes writing a long and frustrating process for me. I can never make up my mind when it comes to sentence structure or topics. One way that I have made this problem easier on myself is to create a organizer before I began writing. I can use this prewriting time to work through all of the decisions I may face beforehand. I can recall my senior year of high school having to write a ten page paper. To this day, I believe it is still one of the worst assignments i’ve had to do. I did not get to choose the topic, so I was already uninterested, and the process made me extremely overwhelmed and frustrated. One of my main goals as a teacher is to not force students to do major assignments or papers over something they have no interest in. I want them to be able to enjoy the writing process and to express their creativity through writing. I understand how miserable it can be to have to spend weeks writing a paper that you have zero interest in, so hopefully I can take my experiences and provide better ones for my future students.

Faith McIntosh

2 thoughts on “My Writing Experience

  1. YES!!!! That was very smart when it came to not wanting to give your future students assignments that they will be miserable doing. I feel like if you are interested in a topic, all the extra stuff like pre-writing, researching, etc., becomes so much easier. Which will lead to a higher success rate. I also relate on the diary thing where I’d write a few things for a few days and then never look back- haha. It’s crazy how you can love yet hate English and Literature at the same time.

    Like

  2. I am the same way about writing all of my class notes and keeping a hand written planner. And as much as I like to record my day- I was never (and still am not) good at keeping a “journal”.

    Like

Leave a comment